Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

Atwal Named Finalist For CJHL MVP Award

Sherwood Park, AB: The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced earlier today that Arjun Atwal was one of five finalists for their 2019/20 CJHL Most Valuable Player award.

On February 26th, Atwal was named the AJHL 2019/20 MVP after scoring 107 points (35 goals, 72 assists) in 54 games which led the league. He joined Peter Quenneville (2011/2012), Cody Kunyk (2009/2010), Mike Palichuk (1988/1989), and Ken Weiss (1986/1987) as Crusaders recognized as AJHL MVP award.

Also, Atwal scoring his 218th point as a Crusaders to move into 2nd all-time in franchise points. He finished the season with 232 total in 162 games for the franchise. 

More recently, the Sherwood Park captain was one of four Crusaders to be named to the Viterra North All-League team.

Atwal will go up against Kent Johnson (Trail Smoke Eaters – BCHL), Devon Levi (Carleton Place Canadians – CCHL), Brodie MacArthur (Summerside Western Capitals  – MHL), and Caleb Serre (Blind River Beavers – NOJHL).

The entire Crusaders organization would like to congratulate Arjun and the entire Atwal family on his accomplishment.

For more information, please contact Crusaders Media Coordinator Liam Horrobin,